Home › Valpolicella areas


Valpolicella_Mauro Magagna Ph.
Vigneti_Mauro Magagna Ph.


Valpolicella is an extremely complex and fascinating area. The uniqueness and complexity of Valpolicella wines starts from here, with these places with peculiar climatic and geological features, mysterious to a certain extent. It is a sort of micro-region, homogeneous for its historical, social and agricultural background.


Valpolicella is made by three different valleys crossed by small brooks called progni in local dialect. Negrar, Marano and Fumane, whose waters flow from Lessinia Mountain into the Adige, the river of Verona.

The Valpolicella Classica is the area where wine production is more rooted and is formed by five main municipalities: Negrar, St Pietro in Cariano, Marano, Fumane and St Ambrogio of Valpolicella.

The eastern area of the province of Verona is called Valpolicella as well: since it is part of Valpolicella Denomination of Origin (DOC), it can be considered as a kind of extension of Valpolicella itself and for this reason it is called Extended Valpolicella.

It consists of five valleys: Valpantena is the only one that is recognized, Val Squarano, Val Mezzane, Val d’Illasi and Val Tramigna.

Differences between the three areas involve also geological and climatic conformation that influence the grape growing and contribute in creating an incredibly variegated landscape with rivers, valleys, mountains.

In Valpolicella, vineyards, cypresses, olive groves and cherry trees surround Renaissance and Baroque style villas, ancient farm houses, medieval parish churches.


Thanks to the international success of Amarone, many consumers have shown their interest in this small area of the province of Verona, however, Valpolicella wines have been famous since ancient times.

The blending of Corvina, Corvinone and Rondinella grapes and their different processing methods give rise to wines typical of this land: Valpolicella, Valpolicella Superiore, Recioto and Amarone.

Show Buttons